DCRage's Rants, Thoughts, & Other Stuff

Sports, MMA, Girls, & Other Random Stuff

(Not A) Happy Valentine’s Day

Posted by representingpuroresu on 02/14/2010

Time for my annual quick Valentine’s Day rant since it’s February 14, meaning it’s my least-favorite day of the year: Valentine’s Day. The day that supposedly is all about love, romance, all that stuff…BLAH. I hate it and can’t stand it! Granted, part of it is because I’m not even so much as thinking about dating and relationships, but I haven’t even been in such a position in a long time…OK, over 15 years. I am a bit of a loner but I’ve never had much luck with it either, so I’ve never really been able to enjoy it. Now I’m not an anti-romantic kind of person, if I had a wife/girlfriend I would do something nice for her today. But I’ve plain old given up, just wishing the whole thing would go away-yes, some people close to me think I’ll still find that special someone (more like hope, everyone in my family that can be dating, engaged or married is! Except my younger brother, he doesn’t count yet) and while I haven’t 100% given up, I’m pretty close. It doesn’t seem to be worth it and I’m probably destined to go to my grave a…OK, I’ll stop there. Anyway, just make it go away quickly and let’s move on.
But there is one thing I’m looking forward to hearing today-no, it’s not “I love you”, “Will you be my Valentine?” or anything like that. It’ll hopefully happen at about 1:20 PM ET when I hear the words I’ve waited 3 long months to hear again…”BOOGITY BOOGITY BOOGITY! LET’S GO RACING BOYS!” Yes, my saving grace today-NASCAR season begins with The Great American Race-the Daytona 500, so I’m off to splurge on Popeye’s Chicken & Biscuits and enjoy the race with my father, an annual family tradition. Enjoy the race, my fellow NASCAR fans! (PS-hoping a Joe Gibbs driver wins but predicting 4-time defending series Champion Jimmie Johnson to win, while of course hoping for a Mark Martin win)

Leave a Reply

 
